The history of OLG weaves itself into the history of the San Fernando Valley. It is a story of growth and change from small roots in a rural section of Los Angeles to a large, diverse and vibrant community of the 21st century. The Carmelite priests and brothers from Ireland were ministry pioneers in founding the Parish and the first Mass was celebrated December 16, 1945 in the packing room of Canoga Farms, owned by Frank Flowers, a Presbyterian. The school was built in 1947 and,from then on the parish gathered for Mass in the Hall until the Church was opened in 1961.
Since 1958 the Parish has been served by priests of the Archdiocese of LA. The school was led by a variety of religious orders, as St. Joseph of Cleveland, Immaculate Heart, St Louis, and St. Joseph of Corondolet until 2007. Now it is staffed by a wonderful team of lay administrators and educators.